THE REGISTER OF THE LYNN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, LYNN, MASSACHUSETTS

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649754939

The register of the Lynn historical society, Lynn, Massachusetts by Lynn historical society

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

LYNN HISTORICAL SOCIETY

THE REGISTER OF THE LYNN HISTORICAL SOCIETY, LYNN, MASSACHUSETTS



THE REGISTER

OF THE

Lynn Historical Society

LYNN, MASSACHUSETTS

NUMBER XX

FOR THE YEAR 1916

Edited by the Committee on Publication



529626

LYNN, MASS. FRANK S. WHITTEN, PRINTER 1917

FORM OF BEQUEST

I bequeath the sum of dollars to the Lynn Historical Society, incorporated under the laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and direct that the receipt of the Treasurer of the said Society shall be a release to my estate and to its executors from further liability under said bequest.

Contents

									PAGE
Charles Jeptha Hill Woodbury	(Por	trait) .	33		25	Fre	ontis	iece
Form of Bequest	*:	*		10	(0)	90	(8)	36	2
Officers, 1917	400	è	98	39		*:	(E)	9	- 4
Committees. 1917	400	$\langle \hat{r} \rangle$	(4)	3.5		\$0.5			5
By-laws	48	33	9	33	123	20	1	36	7
New Members of the Society, 1	916	ě	÷	39		**	33	÷	9
Secretary's Annual Report		20	∇	62		27	7	9	10
Treasurer's Report	46			88		20		12	14
Report of Committee on Genea	logy					1)		3	16
Necrologies									
Charles Henry Boardman	60	40	(2)	88	200	±3	1.5		17
Joanna Attwill Bubier		100	:00	0.5	119	10	100		17
Elizabeth Campbell Burro	ws (I	ortr	ait)	3.6	33	431	200	38	18
Maria Batchelder Harmon	9	¥0.	*		19	*:	*	+	18
Charles Sawyer Johnson	63	*:	3	136		*0	(6)	36	18
John Francis Morgan (Por	trait)		90	16		488		24	19
Richard Johnson Nichols	.:	*	(<u>-</u>)	100	(*)	¥65	000		20
Thomas Parker Nichols (P	ortra	rit)	\$3	100	59	4	20	32	20
Eliza Ellen Tufts Stone				%	10	23	2	33	21
Daniel Alvah Sutherland	30	27		12		273		2	22
Mary Louise Peck Thomso	n	•				***			22
Charles Jeptha Hill Woodh	ury		:00 :00			20	20	** **	24
Paper	.mo50								
Banks and Bankers of Old	Lynr	(11	lustra	ated)		+11	30		35

OFFICERS FOR THE YEAR 1917

President.

HENRY FULLER TAPLEY

Vice Presidents.

JOHN ALBREE CHARLES NEAL BARNEY HENRY NEWHALL BERRY

Secretary,

CHARLES STEWART VIALL

Assistant Secretary,

MISS HELEN WALLACE FOSTER

Treasurer.

GUSTAVUS ATTWILL

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

The above ex officia and:

Until January 1918

HENRY NEWHALL BERRY WILLIAM S. BURRILL Mrs. HARRIST K. CLOUGH EARL A. MOWER JAMES S. NEWHALL THOMAS F. PEDRICK

Until January 1919

GEORGE S. BLISS MISS ELLEN MUDGE BURRILL NATHAN MORTIMER HAWKES BENJAMIN N. JOHNSON MISS HARRIET L. MATTHEWS MISS SUSAN L. JOHNSON

Until January 1920

MRS. GRACE G. CHASE MICAJAB P. CLOUGH MISS SALLIE H. HACKER A. Dubley Johnson Mrs. Lucinda M. Lummus Louis M. Winslow

Committees 1917

Custodians

WILLIAM S. BURRILL	, C	hairn	van		300	100	Rooms
GEORGE S. BLISS		+0	16.0	020	-04	100	Photographs
EDWARD B. GORDON	4				6		Books and Pamphlets
EARL A. MOWER	23	1		-	83	93	Rooms
Louis M. Winslow	90	3.5	19.	03	(63	*3	Grounds

Finance

MICAJAH P. CLOUGH, Chairman HENRY F. TAPLEY LOUIS M. WINSLOW

Membership

HENRY F. TAPLEY, Chairman

JOHN M. BARRY MRS. LIZZIE L. BREED
CHARLES N. BREED MISS MABEL A. PEACH
EDWARD F. BREED MISS MABEL F. RIPLEY

Lectures and Public Meetings

CHARLES E. HAYWOOD, Chairman

C. NEAL BARNEY

MRS. FLORENCE L. BREED

THOMAS F. PEDRICK

Reception

MISS SALLIE H. HACKER, Chairman

MRS. EDITH T. BEARDSELL MRS. MARION W. NEWHALL
MRS. ISABELLE B. BROWN MRS. MABEL W. OSBORN
MRS. HELEN W. CAMPBELL MISS MABEL A. PEACH
MISS SUSAN L. JOHNSON MRS. ADALINE E. STEPHENSON
MRS. LUCINDA M. LUMMUS MRS. SARAH E. STEPHENSON
MISS SADIE W. MARTIN MSS MARY A. TOWNSEND
MISS MARY E. NEWHALL MISS LACRA B. WOODBURY

AND MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Genealogy

Miss Susan L. Johnson, Chairman

LUTHER ATWOOD Mrs. HARRIET F. PARKER

Mrs. Harriet K. Clough Mrs. Carrie M. Sanderson

NATRAN M. HAWKES

Necrology

MISS HELEN W. FOSTER, Chairman

LUTHER ATWOOD MISS SADIE WOODBURY MARTIN

Publication

George S. Bliss, Chairman

MISS JULIA A. GORDON CHARLES H. HASTINGS

MISS ELIZABETH P. PUTNAM

Town Records

GEORGE H. MARTIN. Chairman

C. Neal Barney Benjamin N. Johnson

Excursions

The Committee for each excursion will be appointed by the Council.

BY-LAWS

ARTICLE I MEMBERS

Membership shall consist of the present members of the voluntary association known as the Lynn Historical Society, of the signers of the agreement of association, and such persons as shall hereafter be elected by the Council. The Council shall have authority to drop members from the rolls for non-payment of dues for two years.

Any member who shall pay to the Treasurer the sum of fifty dollars in one payment, and who is not indebted to the Society for dues or otherwise, may become a life member, and be released from the payment of further dues.

ARTICLE II

The annual meeting shall be held on the second Wednesday evening in January, time and place to be determined by the Council. Twenty members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. A less number may adjourn. Special meetings may be called by direction of the Council or President, and shall be called upon the written request of twenty members.

ARTICLE III

COUNCIL

The entire executive control and management of the affairs, property, and finances of the Society shall be vested in a Council, which shall consist of twenty-four members. The Council shall be constituted and elected as follows: