STATUTES OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, PASSED AT THE LEGISLATURE, 1885, BEGUN ON MONDAY, THE FIFTH DAY OF JANUARY, AND ENDED ON THURSDAY, THE FIFTH DAY OF MARCH

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649711871

Statutes of the State of Nevada, Passed at the Legislature, 1885, Begun on Monday, the Fifth Day of January, and Ended on Thursday, the Fifth Day of March by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

STATUTES OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, PASSED AT THE LEGISLATURE, 1885, BEGUN ON MONDAY, THE FIFTH DAY OF JANUARY, AND ENDED ON THURSDAY, THE FIFTH DAY OF MARCH

Trieste

12

34 ï

4 . 33

LIST OF OFFICERS.

1 .

Ţ

4

а а — 2 а

28

. .

STATE OFFICERS, JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT, CONGRESSIONAL DEL-EGATION, MEMBERS AND OFFICERS OF THE LEGISLATURE, AND MANAGING OFFICERS OF STATE INSTITUTIONS AT THE TIME THESE LAWS WERE PASSED.

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT.

NAME.	Position.	Postofilos Address.
(, W, Adama	1	
William Garrard		
Charles E. Laughton	Lieutenant-Governor	Carson Cit
John M. Dormer		Carson Cit
Wells Drury	. Deputy Secretary of State	Carson Cit
I. F. Hallock		Carson Cit
I. W. Holbrook		
George Tufly	Treasurer	Carson Cit
George W. Richard	Deputy Tressurer.	
C. S. Preble	. Surveyor-General	
M. D. Noteware		
0. S. Young		Carson Cit

2.4

JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT.

SUFREME COURT.

NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.	
C. H. Belknsp	Chief Justice		
O. R. Leonard Thomas P. Hawley W. H. Davenport	Associate Justice		
Charles F. Bicknell	Clerk	Carson City	

CONGRESSIONAL DELEGATION.

NAME.	Posițion.	Postoffice Address.
John P. Jones James G. Fair William Woodhurn	United States Senator United States Senator Representative in Congress	

LEGISLATIVE DEPARTMENT.

SENATE-MEMBERS.

Hon. Charles E. Laughton, President, ez-officio. Hon. H. G. Parker, President, pro tem.

NAME.	County.	Postoffice Address.
E. D. Boyle	Storey	Gold Hil
Robert Briggs	White Pinc	
H. F. Dangberg	Douglas	
J. H. Dennis	Elko	
H. L. Fish	Washoe	
M. D. Foley	Eureka	
J. B. Gallagher.	Esmeralda	
Charles Kaiser	Churchill	Stillwate
D. B. Lyman	Storoy	
P. N. Marker	Washoo	
. Maute	Nye	
I. G. Parker	Ormsby	
B. B. P. Pierce	Humboldt	
. Poujado	Lincoln	
. W. Powell	Elko	
John Smyth	Lander	
J. Minor Taylor.	Storey	
3. H. Thoma	Eureka	
W. J. Westerfield	Lyou	
Evan Williams	Ormsby	

*Mr. Taylor served in 1888, but was not present during 1885: As he was entitled to a seat, his name is included in the list us a Senstor for Storay county.

SENATE-OFFICERS AND ATTACHES.

NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.
George I. Lammon	Secrutary) Virginia (lit:
Henry T. Tucker	Assistant Becrotary	
John F. Myers	Minuto Clerk	
Alf. Doten	Engrossing Clerk	
Thomas J. Tennant	Enrolling Clerk	
F. W. Granger	Journal Olerk	
Miss H. K. Clapp	Copying Clerk	
Miss M. Maguire	Copying Clerk	
David E. Baily	Committee Clerk	Enrok
J. W. Ferguson	Committee Clerk.	Stillwate
William Plunkett	Committee Clerk	
Charles H. Stoddard	Sergeant-at-Arms	
E. T. Morton	Assistant Serguant-at-Arms	
William Allen	Messengor.	Vincinia City
John Headrick	Pago.	Carron City
Lafa. Sprague	Page.	
F. W. Downey	Porter.	
Rev. J. H. Wythe, Jr.	Chaplain	
Rev. J. D. Hammond.	Chaplain.	
Rev. George R. Davis.	Chaplain	
Bev. Josiah McClain	Chaplain	

4

S 11

 (N_{i})

18

•

.

3.8-3

1

s s s

ASSEMBLY-MEMBERS.

Hon. E. T. George, Speaker. Hon. William McMillan, Speaker, pro tem.

NAME.	County.	Postoffice Address.
D. Allen	Washos	Rend
N. G. Andrewa	Storey	Gold Hill
E. S. Aroher.	Humboldt	Winnerners
B. Armbrust	Storey	
I. O. Birmingham	Lyon	Mason Valley
H. L. Byrne	Elko	
C. M. Fassett	Enrek	
J. P. Flanningham	Storey	
G. N. Felsom	Ormsby	
E. T. George	Lander	
L. W. Getchell	Lander	
John Gooding.	Nve	
John Godfrey	Fureka	
E. Griswold	Washue	
B. P. Hamill.	Riko	
William J. Hanks		
	Elko	
J. L. Hanna	Storey	
Charles Harpur	Storey	
G. L. Hawkes	Btorey	
Alfred Helm	Ormaby	
James Langan	Storey	
T. F. Laycock.	Washoe	
G. I. Icavitt	Lyon	
Samuel Liddle	White Pine	
H. Mardeu	Remeralda	
A. G. McAfeu	Esmeralda	Fish Lake Valley
William McMillan	Storey	
C. F. Meyers	Lincoln	
W. H. A. Pike	Churchill	Stillwater
John D. Reese	Storey	
H. Rice	Lincoln	
J. Landon Smith	Rureks	Eureka
J. A. Stroh	Nye	Tybe
A. T. Stoarns.	White Pine	Cherry Creek
G. F. Turrittin	Humboldt	Winnemuce
George A. Tyrroll	Ormsby	Carson City
A. Westfall	Humboldt.	Loveloci
A. S. Williams	Douglas	
J. R. Williamson	Lander	
John Young	Storey	

5

(i)

1993

Ŷ,

.

.

ASSEMBLY-OFFICERS AND ATTACHES.

· NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.	
George H. Morrison		Carson City	
R. L. Thomas		Franktown	
A. B. Boles		Genoa	
E. F. Hale	Engrossing Clerk		
G. W. Rutherford	Enrolling Clerk		
W. H. Stoddard			
P. V. Boux			
Miss Katio Kinkcad		Beng	
A. V. Bradley		Grantsville	
Miss V. L. Clinton			
Miss Mary Brown			
Frank C. Bishop			
Peter Holm		Wells	
Harry Martin.			
Thomas Merry			
David Rece			
D. J. Harris	Porter		
Rov. J. H. Wythe, Jr.			
Rev. J. D. Hammond			
Lev. George R. Davis			
Rev. Josiah McClain	Ohaplain		

DISTRICT JUDGES.

NAME.	District.	Counties Embraced.	Postoffice Address.
Richard Rising T. D. Edwards M. A. Nurphy	Second	Storey Ormsby and Douglas Lyon and Esmeraida	Carson City
R. R. Bigelow.	Fourth	Elko and Humboldt Churobill, Lander and Nye	Elk
Henry Rives	Sixth	Fureks, White Pine and Lincoln Washoe	

STATE INSTITUTIONS.

STATE PRISON.

NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.
Frank Bell.	Warden	
Frank C. McCullough Martin Tregellas	Deputy Warden Captain of the Guard	

į,

.

(0.0)

1.2

÷9

588

INSANE ASYLUM.

NAME.	Position.	Postofice Address.
S. Bishop, M. D W. L. Marsden		
Mrs. A. B. Walker,	Matron	

STATE PRINTING OFFICE.

NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.
J. C. Harlow W. L. Taylor	Superintendent	

ORPHANS' HOME.

NAME.	Position.	Postofice Address.
A. Williams.		
Mrs. A. Williams	Matron. Teacher	

STATE UNIVERSITY.

<u>8</u>2

36

NAME.	Position.	Postoffico Address.
J. H. Band	Regent	Elko
H. G. Shaw	Regent	
L. W. Getchell	Regent	Austin
A. T. Stearns	Principal	Elko

MISCELLANEOUS.

NAME.	Position.	Postoffice Address.
George W. Merrill		
Mrs. M. A. Fisher		

120

î