YEAR BOOK OF THE NEW YORK SOUTHERN SOCIETY, FOR THE YEAR 1921-22

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649737741

Year Book of the New York Southern Society, For the Year 1921-22 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

YEAR BOOK OF THE NEW YORK SOUTHERN SOCIETY, FOR THE YEAR 1921-22



Year Book

New York Southern Society

For the Year 1921-22

New York, 1921

CONTENTS

Page
Officers and Executive Committee 5
Standing Committees 6
Former Officers and Members of Executive Committees 7
Entertainments 10
Certificate of Incorporation
Preamble to the Constitution
Constitution 19
By-Laws
Thirty-fifth Annual Dinner 32
Address of President Samuel McRoberts
Address of Governor John J. Cornwell 41
Address of Hon. Clark Howell53
Address of Hon. Martin W. Littleton
Hugh R. Garden Library 84
List of Members
In Memorien 115

* 48

OFFICERS

1921-1922

President
Samuel McRoberts
Vice-President
Junius Parker
Secretary
William G. Fitzwilson

Treasurer
WILLIAM D. BUCKNER

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Class of 1921
To serve until March, 1922
BARRON G. COLLIER
DR. WYLLEY H. DOYN

DR. WILLIAM E. DOLD ALBERT A. SPRINGS PERCY H. JOHNSTON Class of 1922

To serve until March, 1923 WILLIAM G. BIBS JULIAN B. BEATY

CHARLES A. BOSTON ADOLPHUS BAGAN

Closs of 1923
To serve until March, 1924
AMOS L. BEATY
ALFERD W. HAYWOOD
EDWIN C. LUKE
EUGENE W. STETSON

Chaplain

REV. ERREST M. STIRES, D.D.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE:

5 Nassau Street

Telephone No. 8077 Rector

STANDING COMMITTEES

1921-1922

Committee on Admissions

PERCY H. JOHNSTON, Chairman ROBERT ADAMSON, Chairman

WILLIAM G. BIBB

ALBERT A. SPRINGS

Entertainment Committee

BARBON G. COLLIEB

JAMES M. CRANK

Committee on Speakers for Annual Dinner

MARTIN W. LITTLETON, Chairman DR. WILLIAM E. DOLD

BEVERLY D. HABBIS EUGENE W. STRISON Auditing Committee

CHARLES A. BOSTON, Chairman

ALFRED W. HAYWOOD

Dinner Committee

Percy H. Johnston, Chairman EUGENE W. STETSON

FRANK K. HOUSTON

Committee on Publication of Year Book

WM. G. FITZWILSON, Chairman ADOLPHUS RAGAN

EDWIN C. LUKE

Committee on Investment and Distribution of Charity Fund

WM. D. BUCKNER, Chairman ALFRED W. HAYWOOD JUDGE AMOS L. BEATY

Nominating Committee Year 1921

JULIAN B. BEATY, Chairman WALTER L. MCCORKLE JOHN HARWAY T. FOSTER GAINES WALTER E. DIXON

FORMER OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES

From 1886 to 1919

Presidents

ALGERNON SYDNEY SULLIVAN FRANCIS R. RIVES JOHN C. CALHOUN HUGH R. GARDEN JAMES H. PARKER ROBERT L. HARRISON CHARLES A. DESHON JOHN R. ABNEY HUGH S. THOMPSON

DR. WILLIAM M. POLE
AUGUSTUS VAN WYCE
MARION J. VEEDERY
DR. JOHN A. WYSTH
WILLIAM G. MCADOS
WALTER L. MCCORKLE
W. W. FULLER
S. R. BESTEON
WILLIAM A. BARBER

Vice-Presidents

BUETON N. HARRISON
A. G. DICKINSON
JOHN C. CALHOUN
BALLARD SMITH
JOHN NEWTON
VIRGINIUS DABNEY
WILLIAM L. TRENHOLM
JAMES H. PARKER
EVAN THOMAS
WILLIAM P. ST. JOHN
ROBERT L. HARRISON
DR. JOHN A. WYETH
CHARLES A. DESHON
JAMES SWANN
CLARENCE CARY

JOHN H. INMAN
PETER MALLETT
WILLIAM P. THOMPSON
JOHN R. ABNEY
HUGH S. THOMPSON
DE. WILLIAM M. POLE
AUGUSTUS VAN WYCE
MARION J. VERDERY
HON. WILLIAM LINDBAY
WALTEE I. MCCOBELE
GEORGE GORDON BATTLE
S. R. BERTRON
WILLIAM A. BARRER
SAMUEL MCROBERTS

Treasurers

WALTER L. McCorkle Howard Saunders James L. Johnson William F. McComes, Jr. HETH LORION GASTON HARDY WILLIS BROWNING JOHN P. EAST

Becretaries

JOHN MARSHALL
MAGGRANE COLE
TURNER ASHBY BEALL
WINTON RANDOLPH
GRATTAN COLVIN
G. TERRY SINCLAIR
GEORGE GORDON BATTLE

Percy S. Mallett John M. Harrington Stuart Gatewood Girboney Thomas Staples Fuller Stephen L. Snowden Albert A. Springs

Chaplains

REV. OTIS A. GLAZEBROOK REV. DR. CHARLES F. DEEMS REV. PH. A. H. BROWN, D.D. REV. W. W. PAGE REV. JOHN W. BROWN, D.D. REV. J. NEVETT STEELE REV. FRANK PAGE, D.D. REV. ST. CLAIR HESTER, D.D.

Members of Executive Committees

JOHN R. ABNET ROBERT ADAMSON JOSEPH A. ALTSHELES CHARLES BASKERVILLE GEORGE GORDON BATTLE HOWARD R. BAYNE PHELAN BEALE S. R. BERTBON WILLIAM G. BIBB Dr. J. A. BODINE WILLIS BROWNING SAMUEL H. BUCK MORTIMER N. BUCKNER WILLIAM D. BUCKNER FRANCIS G. CAFFEY JOHN C. CALHOUN CLARENCE CABY DR. J. HERBERT CLAIBORNE, JR. HUGH L. COLE THOMAS D. COTTMAN GEORGE B. COVINGTON MACGRANE COKE WILLIAM G. CHENSHAW, JR. HON. J. F. DALY CHARLES A. DESHON

HETH LORTON JOHN Z. LOWE WALTER L. McCorkle THOMAS J. McGUIRE JOHN R. McKAY J. C. MCREYNOLDS SAMURL MCROBERTS PERCY S. MALLETT PETER MALLETT H. SNOWDEN MARSHALL JOHN MARSHALL THOMAS MARSHALL JAMES A. MENG C. A. MOUNTJOY LOGAN C. MURRAY DR. ROBERT C. MYLES Grouge W. NEVILLE LEWIS NIXON ISAAC R. OELAND EDWARD OWEN ROBERT OXNARD DR. R. C. M. PAGE JAMES H. PARKER JUNIUS PARKER J. LYNCH PENDEBOAST