YEAR BOOK: NEW YORK SOUTHERN SOCIETY. FOR THE YEAR 1919-20

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649737734

Year Book: New York Southern Society. For the Year 1919-20 by New York Southern Society

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

NEW YORK SOUTHERN SOCIETY

YEAR BOOK: NEW YORK SOUTHERN SOCIETY. FOR THE YEAR 1919-20



Year Book

New York Southern Society

For the Year 1919-20

*

New York, 1919

CONTENTS

| | age |
|---|-----|
| Officers and Executive Committee | 51 |
| Standing Committees | 6 |
| Former Officers and Members of Executive Committees | 7 |
| Entertainments | 10 |
| Certificate of Incorporation | 11 |
| Preamble to the Constitution | 15 |
| Constitution | 19 |
| Ву-Laws | 32 |
| Thirty-third Annual Dioner | 34 |
| Address of President William A. Barber | 35 |
| Address of Dr. Henry Van Dyke | 41, |
| Address of M. Gaston Liebert | |
| Address of Hon. Marcel Knecht | 56 |
| Resolutions: | |
| Ex-President Charles Augustus Deshon | 70 |
| Ex-President William Mecklenburg Polk | 75 |
| Ex-President John C. Calhoun | 79 |
| Hugh R. Garden Library | 81 |
| List of Members | 82 |
| | 100 |

| | • | en. | | , | |
|----------|----|-----|--|----|--|
| | | | | | |
| 2 | 57 | | | 18 | |
| | | | | | |

OFFICERS

\$3. BE

1919-1920

President
WILLIAM A. BARRER

Vice-President Samuel McRosests

Tressurer
WILLIAM D. BUOKNER

Secretary William G. Firzwilson.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Class of 1919

To serve until March, 1920

PERCY S. MALLETT LINDSAY RUSSELL FRANCIS T. HOMER Class of 1920

To serve until March, 1921

MORTIMER N. BUCKNER

JOHN HANWAY HENRY EVANS

ALMUTH C. VANDIVER

Class of 1921
To serve until March, 1922
BARBON G, COLLIEB
DR. WILLIAM E. DOLO
THEODORE D, ROUSSEAU
STEPHEN L. SNOWDEN

Chaplain

REV. ERREST M. STIRES, D.D.

SECRETARY'S OFFICE:

5 Nassau Street

Telephone No. 8077 Rector

STANDING COMMITTEES

1919-1920

Committee on Admissions Joun Hanway, Chairman STEPHEN L. SNOWDEN

Committee on Speakers for Annual Dinner

PERCY S. MALLETT ALMUTH C. VANDIVER

Dinner Committee

ALBERT A. SPRINGS, Chairman EUGENE W. STETSON DE. HENRY C. COWLES

Entertainment Committee ROBERT ADAMSON, Chairman FRANK V. BALDWIN EDWIN C. LUKE

Auditing Committee THEODORE ROUSSEAU, Chairman MOSTIMER N. BUCKNES, Chairm. FRANCIS T. HOMES HENRY EVANS

> Committee on Publication of Year Book WM. G. FITZWILSON, Chairman BARRON G. COLLIER DR. WILLIAM E. DOLD

Committee on Investment and Distribution of Charity Fund

WM. D. BUCKNES, Chairman ROBERT L. HARRISON DR. FIELDING L. TAYLOR

Nominating Committee 1920

PERCY S. MALLETT, Chairman WALTER L. MCCORELE CHESTER ALEXANDER ROBERT ADAMSON ALBERT A. SPRINGS

FORMER OFFICERS AND MEMBERS OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES

From 1886 to 1918

Presidents

ALGRENON SYDNEY SULLIVAN
FRANCIS R. RIVES
JOHN C. CALHOUN
HUGH R. GAEDEN
JAMES H. PARKER
ROBEET L. HARRISON
CHARLES A. DESHOR
JOHN R. ABNEY
HUGH S. THOMPSON

DE. WILLIAM M. POLE AUGUSTUS VAN WYCE MARION J. VERDESY DE. JOHN A. WYETH WILLIAM G. MCADOO WALTES I. MCCORKLE W. W. FULLES 8. R. BERTRON

Vice-Presidents

BUETON N. HABRISON
A. G. DICKINBON
JOHN C. CALHOUN
BALLARD SMITH
JOHN NEWTON
VIRGINIUS DABREY
WILLIAM L. TRENHOLM
JAMES H. PARKEB
EVAN THOMAS
WILLIAM P. ST. JOHN
ROBERT L. HARRISON
DR. JOHN A. WYETH
CHARLES A. DESHON
JAMES SWANN

CLARENCE CARY
JOHN H. INMAN
PETER MALLETT
WILLIAM P. THOMPSON
JOHN R. ABNEY
HUGH S. THOMPSON
DE. WILLIAM M. POLK
AUGUSTUS VAN WYCK
MARION J. VERGUSTY
HON. WILLIAM LINDBAY
WALTES L. MCCORKLE
GEORGE GORDON BATTLE
S. R. BESTEON
WILLIAM A. BARREE

Treasurers

WALTER L. McCorele Howard Saunders James L. Johnson William F. McCombs, Jr. HETH LOSTON GASTON HABDY WILLIS BROWNING JOHN P. EAST