ANNUAL REPORTS OF THE TOWN OFFICERS OF AMHERST, N. H. FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 1975, ALSO OFFICERS OF SCHOOL DISTRICT YEAR ENDING JUNE 31, 1975

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649170722

Annual reports of the town officers of Amherst, N. H. for the year ending December 31, 1975, Also Officers of School District year ending June 31, 1975 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

ANNUAL REPORTS OF THE TOWN OFFICERS OF AMHERST, N. H. FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 1975, ALSO OFFICERS OF SCHOOL DISTRICT YEAR ENDING JUNE 31, 1975

Trieste

ANNUAL REPORTS of the Town Officers of Amherst, N. H.

for the

Year Ending December 31, 1975

Also

Officers of School District

Year Ending June 30, 1975

The Cabinet Press, Inc. - Milford, N. H. - 1976

UNIVERSITY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE LIBRARY

IN MEMORIAM

Edward Conti

Trustee of the Trust Funds 1958-1975

Lewis Sawyer

Selectman – 1955 Treasurer, Amherst Village District 1952-1954

10.00

INDEX

Auditors	131
Appropriations and Taxes Assessed	48
Balance Sheet	51
Bicentennial Committee	
Budget Civil Preparedness Report	. 37
Civil Preparedness Report	147
Comparative Statement	-43
Conservation Committee Report	142
Detailed Statement of Payments	81
Fire Department	109
Highway Agent	
Inventory	41
Library	123
Master Plan, Synopsis of	137
Nashua Mental Health	151
Office Hours Back C	over
Planning Board	136
Folice Department	114
Receipts and Payments	56
Recreation Commission Report	144
School District	177
Selectmen	158
Souhegan Nursing Association	152
Souhegan Regional Landfill District Report	
Synopsis of 1975 Town Meeting	
Tax Collector	63
Town Clerk	62
Town Government Study Commission	153
Town Officers	4
Town Property	60
Town Treasurer	72
Tree Committee	122
Trust Funds	120
Village District	161
Vital Statistics	170
Warrant	7
Zoning - Administrative Official	134
Zoning - Board of Adjustment	133

Tonn Officers Population in June, 1975-7,055

Moderator M. A. Wight, Jr.

Selectmen Francis N. Perry, Chairman, 1977 Edward C. Masten, 1978 Robert G. Lown, 1976 Barbara H. Landry, Secretary

Town Clerk Bernice C. Boothroyd

Treasurer Marion M. Sortevik

Health Officer Dr. James C. Starke

Zoning Administrator Robert J. Barton Tax Collector Barbara H. Landry

Town Counsel William R. Drescher

Welfare Officer Edward C. Masten

Road Agent Richard G. Crocker

Custodian of Town Buildings Ernest E. Law

Police Chief James F. Tinker, resigned John T. Osborn, Jr. Fire Chief Marshall D. Strickland

Fire Wards David Herlihy

Richard G. Crocker

Auditors

Orson H. Bragdon

Marshall D. Strickland

Maurice R. Martel

Supervisors of the Checklists

Audrey Spalding, 1980 Robert Wishart, 1978

Rescue Squad and Civil Preparedness Roy E. Maston, Director Harding C. Sortevik, Deputy Director Trustees of Trust Funds

David T. Ramsay, 1977 Edward A. Conti, 1976, (deccased) Charles Ware, 1976 George W. Brown, 1978

	Cemetery Trustees	
David T. Ramsay	Edward Marchildon	Edward C. Masten

Library Trustees

E. Daniel Johnson, 1978	W. Ryland Cox,	1978
John Manning, 1976	Elizabeth Lyle,	1976
Lucy Ramsay, 1977	Margaret Gray,	1977

Planning Board

Robert Jackson, Chairman, 1978, resigned Robert Crouter, Acting Chairman, 1976 Charles Hood, 1976, resigned E. Gordon Pullar, 1977 resigned Herbert Kopf, 1976 James Shildneck, 1977 Scott Sutherland, 1980 Robert Bacon, 1979, resigned Robert Suomala, 1978 Roger Smith, 1979 Thain Allan, alternate

Robert Lown, ex-officio

Board of Adjustment

Thomas Carson, Chairman,	1976
Russell Steeves, 1980	Rosemary Dalcy, 1976
Arnold Dickinson, 1977	Roger Brown, 1978
Beverly Eger, 1979, resigned	

Road Commissioners

A. David Johnson, 1977, resigned	Meric Arnold,	1977
Harold Warner, 1978	Everett Leach,	1976

Nashua Regional Planning Commission

Elizabeth Scarles, 1977, resigned Martin Michaelis, 1978 Joann Shildneck 1977

Conservation Commission

Alice E. Arnold, 1976	William Weatherbee,	1976
Wallace Warren, 1977	Charles Tiedeman,	1976
Elizabeth Barrett, 1978	Michael Grubb,	1978
William Goodwil	1. 1977	

Historic District Commission

Robert Crouter, 1978George Brown, Chairman, 1976Barbara Berlack, 1978Anna M. Jones, 1977Francis N. Perry, ex-officioRosamond Buchanan, 1977, resigned

Recreation Commission

Suzanne Blakeman, 1978, Chairman

Clark Stewart, 1977 Keith Hiller, 1978 Bruce Fraser, 1977 Susan Kierstead, 1976

Tree Committee

Eugene I. Roe, 1978, resigned Margaret Drobat, 1976 Norman J. Marsh, 1977

Independence Day Committee

Amherst Jay Cees	Orson Bragdon	Amherst Lions Club
Raymond Morin	Ann Bergin	Joseph Ryan
Barbara Perry	00.000 H 200 0 01	George Brown

Memorial Day Committee

Frederick Simmons, Chairman William Hopkins Kathleen Magili Peter Bergin

> Ways and Means Committee W. Allan Huebner, Chairman

Dorothy CarlsmithThomas GrellaRichard InfantineAnn SnowJohn FreemanJoseph Hoag

Representatives to the General Court

Orsou Bragdon Kenneth Spalding Josephine Martin

Member of the State Senate Alan Rock

Town Government Study Committee J. Merrill Hines, Chairman, 1978 Ingrid Michaelis, 1978 Burton Knight, 1977 Paul Savage, 1976 Evelyn Dudley, 1977

Amherst Bicentennial Committee Thomas Grella, Chairman Mary Steeves, Secretary Joseph Ryan, Chairman, resigned

TOWN WARRANT State of New Hampshire

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Voting on Article 1 through 7 will be at the polls.

Remaining articles will be considered at the meeting held at 8:00 p.m.

To the inhabitants of the Town of Amherst in the County of Hillsborough in said state, qualified to vote in Town affairs:

You are hereby notified to meet at the Wilkins School on Tuesday, the 2nd day of March, next at 7 of the clock in the forenoon, to act upon the following subjects:

Article 1.

To choose all necessary Town Officers for the year ensuing.

Article 2.

To see if the Town will vote to make the following changes in the Zoning Map and the Zoning Ordinance of the Town of Amherst:

VOTE NO. 1

Town Center Commercial District

To see if the Town will vote to amend the Zoning Ordinance and Zoning Map as follows:

- A. To amend the Zoning Map of the Town of Amherst as follows: The area designated on property map No. 6 as Lots 57-1 and 57-2 on Limbo Lane be amended so that they constitute a "Town Center Commercial District".
- B. To amend Article IV of the Zoning Ordinance by adding a new Section 4-11 Town Center Commercial District as follows: A. General Purpose
 - To provide a centrally located area to serve limited