REPORT OF THE WOMEN'S EDUCATIONAL AND INDUSTRIAL UNION, FOR THE YEAR ENDING MAY 2, 1882

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649296712

Report of the Women's Educational and Industrial Union, for the year ending may 2, 1882 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

REPORT OF THE WOMEN'S EDUCATIONAL AND INDUSTRIAL UNION, FOR THE YEAR ENDING MAY 2, 1882

Trieste

27240

27240 .

1

Women's Educational and Industrial Union

OF THE

FOR THE YEAR ENDING MAY 2, 1882.

BOSTON: No. 157 TREMONT STREET.

1882.

SX.,

ACT OF INCORPORATION.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS.

BE IT KNOWN that whereas HARRIET CLISBY, ARVILLA B. HAYNES, MELISSA CHAMBERLIN, SARAH E. EATON, ABBY M. DIAZ, SARAH E. COTTING, and ELIZABETH G. GAY have associated themselves with the intention of forming a corporation under the name of the *Women's Educational and Industrial Union*, for the purpose of increasing fellowship among women, in order to promote the best practical methods for securing their education, industrial and social advancement, and have complied with the provisions of the Statutes of this Commonwealth in such case m4de and provided, as appears from the certificate of the President, Treasurer, and Directors of said corporation, duly approved by the Commissioner of Corporations, and recorded in this office,—

Now, therefore, I, HENRY B. PEIRCE, Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, do hereby certify that said HARRIET CLISBY, ARVILLA B. HAYNES, MELISSA CHAMBERLIN, SARAH E. EATON, ABBY M. DIAZ, SARAH E. COTTING, and ELIZABETH G. GAY, their associates and successors, are legally organized and established as and are hereby made an existing corporation under the name of the *Women's Educational and Industrial Union*, with the powers, rights, and privileges, and subject to the limitations, duties, and restrictions which by law appertain thereto.

Witness my official signature hereunto subscribed, and the seal of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts hereunto affixed, this twenty-third day of April in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eighty.

PRESS OF GED. H BLLIS, 141 FRANKLIN EFREFT, HOSTOR.

(Signed)

HENRY B. PEIRCE,

Secretary of the Commonwealth.

Board of Administration for 1882-83.

.

ż

Re-classed 9-10-2

President.

Mrs. A. M. DIAZ, 157 Tremont Street.

Vice-Presidents.

ARVILLA B. HAYNES, M.D., 773 Tremont Street.

• Mrs. A. M. MACY, 17 Beacon Street.

* Mrs. C. A. MARQUEZE, 365 Beacon Street.

* HARRIET CLISBY, M.D., 157 Tremont Street.

Secretary.

MELISSA CHAMBERLIN, 157 Tremont Street.

Treasurer.

Mrs. TOLMAN WILLEY, 57 Tremont Street.

Mrs. S. E. COTTING, 622 Tremont Street. Mrs. E. G. GAY, 385 Beacon Street. Mrs. THOMAS MACK, 13 Arlington Street. Miss A. F. DOWSE, 330 Beacon Street.

Trustees of Permanent Fund.

Mrs. K. G. WELLS, *Chairman*, 155 Boylston Street. Mrs. E. G. GAV, 385 Beacon Street. Mrs. JOHN W. JAMES, 119 Boylston Street. Mrs. AUGUSTUS HEMENWAY, 40 Mt. Vernon St. Mrs. THOMAS E. PROCTOR, 327 Beacon Street. Mrs. Dr. J. P. OLIVER, 124 Boylston Street. Mrs. George H. NORMAN, 348 Beacon Street.

Advisory Board of Trustees.

Mr. George H. Norman. George O. Shattuck, Esq. Mr. William Endicott, Jr.

*As the Board has felt the need of three more Vice-Presidents, these additional officers were appointed at a special meeting held directly after the Annual Meeting, in accordance with Article III of the Constitution.

Board of Administration for 1881-82.

President. Mrs. A. M. DIAZ, 157 Tremont Street.

Vice-Presidents.

ARVILLA B. HAVNES, M.D., 773 Tremont Street. * Mrs. A. M. MACY, 17 Beacon Street. * Mrs. C. A. MARQUEZE, 365 Beacon Street.

> Honorary Vice-President. HARRIET CLISBY, M.D.

Secretary.

MELISSA CHAMBERLIN, 157 Tremont Street.

Treasurer.

Mrs. SARAH E, EATON, 2 Union Terrace, Forest Hills.

Mrs. S. E. COTTING, 622 Tremont Street. Mrs. E. G. GAY, 385 Beacon Street. Mrs. THOMAS MACK, 13 Arlington Street. Miss A. F. Dowse, 330 Beacon Street.

*As the Board has felt the need of two more Vice-Presidents, these additional officers were appointed at a special meeting held directly after the Annual Meeting, in accordance with Article III. of the Constitution.

ł

43

Standing Committees.

1882-83.

Finance.

Mrs. TOLMAN WILLEY, Chairman, Mrs. A. M. MACY. Mrs. E. F. PRATT. Mrs. JOHN W. JAMES. Miss S. A. CHEEVER.

Social Affairs.

Miss B. CHAMBERLIN, Chairman. Miss M. HILLIARD, Miss C. A. URANN. Mrs. H. A. UPHAM. Mrs. M. B. GOODRICH.

Moral and Spiritual Development.

ARVILLA B. HAVNES, Chairman. Mrs. KATE G. WELLS. Mrs. EDNAH D. CHENEY. Mrs. JULIA WARD HOWE. HARRIET CLISBY, M.D.

13

٠

Mrs. J. R. ANAGNOS. Mrs. H. M. WHITMAN. Miss Anna F. Dowse. Miss ELIZABETH TOBEY.

Industries.

Board of Directors.

Hygiene and Physical Culture. Executive Committee. Mrs. F. L. COMEE, Chairman. Mrs. H. A. POTTER. Mrs. S. J. CROCKETT. Mrs. L. M. CUTTING.

Physicians.

Dr. HARRIET CLISBY.	Dr. AUGUSTA STEADMAN.
Dr. J. R. CULVER,	Dr. SALOME MERRITT.
Dr. A. G. WETHERBEE.	Dr. SARAH HAMMOND.

Education.

Lecture Bureau.

Mrs. JULIA WARD HOWE, Chairman. Mrs. KATE G. WELLS. Dr. HARRIET CLISBY. Mrs. A. M. MACY. Miss H. S. TOLMAN, Secretary.

Lecture and Class.

Mrs. E. A. R. GORDON, Chairman. Mrs. EDWARD HASELTINE. Mrs. S. R. KNIGHTS. Mrs. A. A. HARDING. Mrs. Dr. STACKPOLE. Miss E. A. EUSTIS.

Protection.

MTS. KATE G. WELLS, Chairman. Mrs. H. M. SEWALL. Mrs. ALBERT MORRISON. Mrs. TOLMAN WILLEY. Miss MARY S. OSBORN. Mrs. W. F. TEMPLE.

Miss IDA O. TEMPLE, Secretary.

63

Standing Committees.

1881-82.

Finance.

Mrs. S. E. EATON, Chairman. Mrs. A. M. MACY. Mrs. JOHN W. JAMES. Miss S. A. CHEEVER.

.

2

Social Affairs.

Miss M. Chamberlin, *Chairman*. Miss M. Hilliard. * Mis. C. S. Rodman. Mis. S. S. Eddy. Mis. H. A. Upham. Miss C. A. Urann.

Moral and Spiritual Development.

Dr. A. B. HAYNES, Chairman. Mrs. K. G. Wells. Mrs. H. M. WHITMAN. Mrs. E. D. CHENEY. Mrs. J. W. Howe. Miss A. F. Dowse.

٤.,

Industries.

Miss A. F. DOWSE, Chairman.
Miss H. R. CHICKERING, Chairman.

Executive Committee.

Mrs. S. E. EATON.	Mrs. A. M. MACY.
Mrs. E. G. GAY.	Mrs. S. E. COTTING
Miss A.	R. Dowse.

Auditing Committee.

Mrs. S. E. EATON. Mrs. S. E. COTTING.

* Resigned.