YEAR BOOK FOR 1912

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649529681

Year Book for 1912 by Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

CARNEGIE ENDOWMENT FOR INTERNATIONAL PEACE

YEAR BOOK FOR 1912



Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

FOUNDED DECEMBER FOURTEENTH

DOMENO L JAMES

YEAR BOOK FOR 1912

2 JACKSON PLACE WASHINGTON, D. C. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Int 6713.1

HARVARD COLLEGE LIBRARY BY EACHANGE 1942

COPYRIGHT 1915

CARNEGE SHOOWMENT FOR INTERNATIONAL PEACE,

WASHINGTON, D. C.

Passe of Byron S. Adams, WARE, D. C.

YEAR BOOK

OF THE

CARNEGIE ENDOWMENT

FOR

INTERNATIONAL PEACE

18 Dac 39 g. Pro. 74

\$6 (7) (96 • 9€

OFFICERS

Trustees

President, ELIHU ROOT.
Vice-President, JOSEPH H. CHOATE.
Secretary, JAMES BROWN SCOTT.
Treasurer, CHARLEMAGNE TOWER.

ROBERT S. BROOKINGS,
THOMAS BURKE.
NICHOLAS MURRAY BUTLER.
JOHN L. CADWALADER,
CLEVELAND H. DODGE.
CHARLES W. ELIOT.
ARTHUR WILLIAM FOSTER.
JOHN W. FOSTER,
AUSTEN G. FOX.
ROBERT A, FRANKS.
WILLIAM M. HOWARD.
SAMUEL MATHER.

ANDREW J. MONTAGUE.
GEORGE W. PERKINS.
HENRY S. PRITCHETT.
JACOB G. SCHMIDLAPP.
JAMES L. SLAYDEN.
OSCAR S. STRAUS.
CHARLES L. TAYLOR.
ANDREW D. WHITE.
JOHN SHARP WILLIAMS.
ROBERT S. WOODWARD.
LUKE E. WRIGHT.

Executive Committee

ELIHU ROOT, Chairman.

JAMES BROWN SCOTT, Secretory.

NICHOLAS MURRAY BUTLER. AUSTEN G. FOX. ANDREW J. MONTAGUE, HENRY S. PRITCHETT.

CHARLEMAGNE TOWER.

Finance Committee

GEORGE W. PERKINS, Chairman.

ROBERT A. FRANKS.

SAMUEL MATHER.

Directors of Divisions

Division of Intercourse and Education, NICHOLAS MURRAY BUTLER.
Division of Economics and History, John Bates Clark.
Division of International Law, James Brown Scott.

Assistant Secretary and Statistician, S. N. D. NORTH.
Assistant to the Secretary, George A. Finch.

21

CONTENTS

At the state of th	
	PAGE.
Officers	
Divisional Organization:	
Division of Intercourse and Education	. ix
Special Correspondents	. ix
European Organization	
Advisory Council	
Executive Committee of Advisory Council	
European Bureau	
Correspondents of the European Bureau	
Agencies of Propaganda	
Division of Economics and History	
Committee of Research	
Division of International Law	
General Adviser	
Consultative Committee of Institute of International Law	
Mr. Carnegie's letter to the Trustees	
Resolutions of acceptance	. 5
Proposed Charter	. 6
By-Laws	
Report of Executive Committee	
Secretary's office and general administration.	. 18
Division of Intercourse and Education	19
Division of Economics and History	
Division of International Law	
Report of the Secretary	
Secretary's office and administration	50 ST.
Division of Intercourse and Education	
Division of Economics and History	. 43
Division of International Law	. 46
Financial Statement	. 55
Report of the Acting Director of the Division of Intercourse and Education	n 61
Organization of the Division	
(a) In the United States	
(b) In Europe	
(c) The Advisory Council in Europe	
Le Bureau International Permanent de la Paix.	
L'Office Central des Associations Internationales	. 66
Aid to periodicals	. 66
Special Correspondents	
Special propaganda	. 69
Relations with Latin America	. 69
Relations with Japan	. 70
Professorship of American History and Institutions at University of Berlin	