THE JOHN WATTS DEPEYSTER PUBLICATION FUND SERIES. XLIII. COLLECTIONS OF THE NEWYORK HISTORICA SOCIETY FOR THE YEAR, 1910

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649130658

The John Watts DePeyster publication fund series, XLIII. Collections of the New-York historica society for the year, $1910 \; \text{by} \; \text{Various}$

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

THE JOHN WATTS DEPEYSTER PUBLICATION FUND SERIES. XLIII. COLLECTIONS OF THE NEWYORK HISTORICA SOCIETY FOR THE YEAR, 1910



COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS.

DANIEL PARISH, JR., GERARD BEEKMAN, ROBERT H. KELBY.

COLLECTIONS

OF

THE NEW-YORK HISTORICAL SOCIETY

FOR THE YEAR

1910.

THE JOHN WATTS DEPEYSTER PUBLICATION FUND SERIES

NEW YORK:
PRINTED FOR THE SOCIETY
MDCCCCXI

Officers of the Society, 1911.

PRESIDENT,
SAMUEL VERPLANCK HOFFMAN.

FIRST VICE-PRESIDENT,
FRANCIS ROBERT SCHELL.

SECOND VICE-PRESIDENT,
WILLIAM MILLIGAN SLOANE.

FOREIGN CORRESPONDING SECRETARY,
ARCHER MILTON HUNTINGTON.

DOMESTIC CORRESPONDING SECRETARY,
JOHN ABEEL WEEKES.

RECORDING SECRETARY, ACOSTA NICHOLS.

TREASURER,
WARREN CADY CRANE.

LIBRARIAN,
ROBERT HENDRE KELBY.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.

FIRST CLASS—FOR ONE YEAR, ENDING 1912.

CHANDLER DAVIS, WALTER L. SUYDAM,
JOHN WATSON CARY.

BECOND CLASS—FOR TWO YEARS, ENDING 1913.

JOHN A. WEEKES, J. PIERPONT MORGAN,
PAUL R. TOWNE.

THIRD CLASS—FOR THREE YEARS, ENDING 1914.

DANIEL PARISH, JR., WILLIAM M. SLOANE,
ARCHER M. HUNTINGTON.

FOURTH CLASS—FOR FOUR YEARS, ENDING 1915.

ISAAC J. GREENWOOD, CLARENCE STORM,
BENJAMIN W. B. BROWN.

DANIEL PARISH, Jr., Chairman. ROBERT H. KELBY, Secretary.

[The President, Vice-Presidents, Recording Secretary, Treasurer, and Librarian are members of the Executive Committee.]



PREFATORY NOTE.

These two volumes, forming the forty-third and forty-fourth volumes of the Collections of the Society for 1910 and 1911 respectively, contain:

- The earliest known Tax Lists of the City of New York, covering December, 1695 to July 15th, 1699, and now for the first time published.
- II. Assessment of the real and personal property of the East Ward, June 24, 1791.

At a meeting of the Common Council held December 8th, 1683. The City and Corporation of New York was divided into six wards as follows:

THE SOUTH WARD

To begin att ye Corner house of James Mathews by ye Watter Side and so North ward along the heere Graft to ye house of Simon Jonson Romain and ffrom thence West ward up ye Beaver graft to ye Corner House of Barent Coursen and ffrom thence south ward by ye fforte to ye watter syde including ye Pearle street & so to ye house of James Mathews againe.

DOCK WARD

To Begin att ye house of Mr. Steph: van Courtlandt by ye Watter syde and so North wards to ye Corner house of Geesie Denys ffrom thence east wards to ye house of David Provost and ffrom thence to ye house of Tryntie Clox [Clocke] and so West wards to Mr. Courtlandts againe.

EAST WARD

To Begin att ye house of Thomas Lewis and ffrom thence Northward to ye house of Laurence Sluys then along ye Wall to ye Corner house of Miriam Levy and so to Thomas Lewis againe, with all ye houses in ye Smi h ffloye and without ye Gate on ye South side of ye ffresh Watter.