# ANNUAL OF THE UNIVERSITY CLUB; THIRTY-SIXTH YEAR 1900-1901

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

### ISBN 9780649502639

Annual of the University Club; Thirty-Sixth Year 1900-1901 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

## **VARIOUS**

# ANNUAL OF THE UNIVERSITY CLUB; THIRTY-SIXTH YEAR 1900-1901



## ANNUAL

OF

# THE UNIVERSITY CLUB

\*

THIRTY-SIXTH YEAR

10

CLUB HOUSE

FIFTH AVENUE AND FIFTY-FOURTH STREET, NORTHWEST

NEW YORK



MAY 1, 1900

(C VI 199)

US 15594.21.25

MAY A 1900

CAMBRIDGE, MASS.

THIRTY-SIX HUNDRED COPIES PRINTED FOR THE USE OF MEMBERS.



### OFFICERS AND STANDING COMMITTEES.

1900-1901.

President.

CHARLES C. BEAMAN.

Vice-President, HENRY E. HOWLAND.

Treasurer,

GEORGE SHERMAN.

Secretary,

HUGH D. AUCHINCLOSS.

House Committee,

DAVID L. HAIGHT, Chairman. CHARLES L. ATTERBURY, JAMES R. SHEFFIELD.

Auditing Committee,

OTTO T. BANNARD, Chairman.

ADRIAN H. JOLINE,

JACOB W. MILLER.

Committee on Literature and Art,

T. FRANK. BROWNELL, Chairman.

JAMES W. ALEXANDER, CHARLES SCRIBNER,

LOYALL FARRAGUT,

WILLIAM M. SLOANE.

1900-1901.

\*

To serve until March, 1901:

FRANCIS S. BANGS,
CHARLES C. BEAMAN,
CORNELIUS C. CUYLER,
LOYALL FARRAGUT,
JAMES R. SHEFFIELD.

To serve until March, 1902: CHARLES L. ATTERBURY, CHARLES T. BARNEY, JACOB W. MILLER,

> HENRY C. MORTIMER, CHARLES H. RUSSELL.

To serve until March, 1903:

HUGH D. AUCHINCLOSS,
GEORGE BLAGDEN,
DAVID L. HAIGHT,
ADRIAN H. JOLINE,
GEORGE SHERMAN.

To serve until March, 1904:

JAMES W. ALEXANDER,
OTTO T. BANNARD,
T. FRANK. BROWNELL,
HENRY E. HOWLAND,
B. AYMAR SANDS.

### COMMITTEE ON ADMISSIONS.

1900-1901.

To serve until March, 1901:

SAMUEL R. BETTS,
ROBERT BRIDGES,
ARTHUR H. MASTEN,
SAMUEL H. ORDWAY,
HERBERT L. SATTERLEE,
HENRY L. SPRAGUE,
ROBERT THORNE.

To serve until March, 1902:

GEORGE H. ADAMS,
AVERY D. ANDREWS,
C. LEDYARD BLAIR,
GEORGE S. BREWSTER,
FREDERICK C. DE VEAU,
HAMMOND ODELL,
GEORGE WOOLSEY.

To serve until March, 1903:

WILLIAM K. DRAPER,
EDWARD C. HENDERSON,
FRANCIS C. HUNTINGTON,
WILLIAM A. MEIKLEHAM,
A. RENÉ MOËN,
A. HENRY MOSLE,
ARTHUR P. STURGES.



### CHARTER.

-

### LAWS OF NEW YORK, 1865.

CHAPTER 594.

-

AN ACT TO INCORPORATE

# "THE UNIVERSITY CLUB"

IN THE CITY OF NEW YORK.

Passed April 28, 1865.

4

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Theodore William Dwight, George T. Strong, John Taylor Johnston, Charles Astor Bristed, Henry R. Winthrop, Charles F. Chandler, Joseph H. Choate, Edmund Wetmore, Francis E. Kernochan, Eugene Schuyler, Edward Mitchell, Luther M. Jones, and Russell Sturgis, Jr., and such other persons as are now associated, or may hereafter be associated, with them, are hereby constituted a body corporate by the name of "The University Club," to be located in the City of New York, for the purpose of the promotion of literature and art, by establishing and maintaining a library, reading-room, and gallery of art, and by such other means as shall be expedient and proper for such purpose.

7