THE AUTHORS CLUB: MANUAL. NEW YORK 1925

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649474615

The Authors Club: Manual. New York 1925 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

THE AUTHORS CLUB: MANUAL. NEW YORK 1925

Trieste



GILDER HOUSE IN WHICH THE AUTHORS CLUB WAS ORGANIZED NO. 103 EAST 15TH STREET 1882

The Authors Club

(Danual

Rew York 1925

.

C.V Part P. W. Some 3/24-37



The Huthors Club Carnegie Building Seventh Avenue and Fifty-sixth Street New York City

Telephone: Circle 3408

ORGANIZED OCTOBER 21, 1882

Organisers: Noah Brooks, Edward Eggleston, Richard Watson Gilder, Laurence Hutton, Charles de Kay, Brander Matthews, Edmund Clarence Stedman.

INCORPORATED, FEBRUARY 18, 1887

CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION OF THE AUTHORS CLUB

Know all Men by these Presents, that we, Edmund C. Stedman, Charles de Kay, Brander Matthews, H. H. Boyesen, and George Parsons Lathrop, who are all of full age, citizens of the United States and of the State of New York, desiring to form ourselves into a Society or Club, pursuant to the provisions of

3

THE AUTHORS CLUB

an Act of the Legislature of the State of New York, passed May 12, 1875, entitled: "An Act for the Incorporation of Societies or Clubs for certain lawful purposes," and of the several acts amending the same, do hereby certify:

First. The name or title by which such Society or Club shall be known in law is THE AUTHORS CLUB.

Second. The particular business and object of such Society or Club shall be literary and library purposes, and the promotion of social intercourse among authors,

Third. The number of Trustees, Directors, or Managers, to manage the same, shall be nine; and the names of such Trustees for the first year of its existence shall be Noah Brooks, George Cary Eggleston, W. Hamilton Gibson, Ripley Hitchcock, Bronson Howard, Thomas W. Knox, James Herbert Morse, Edmund Munroe Smith, and A. B. Starey.

Fourth. The principal office of such Society or Club shall be located in the City and County of New York.

In witness whereof, we have hereunto set our hands, this toth day of February, 1887.

> Edmund C. Stedman Charles de Kay Brander Matthews H. H. Boyesen George Parsons Lathrop

INCORPORATION

STATE OF NEW YORK:

} ss. City and County of New York.

On this 10th day of February, 1887, before me personally appeared Edwund C. STEDMAN, CHARLES DE KAY, BRANDER MAT-THEWS, H. H. BOYESEN, and GEORGE PARSONS LATHROP, to me known to be the individuals described in and who executed the foregoing certificate, and they severally, before me, signed the said certificate and acknowledged that they executed the same,

HERMAT M. HYDE,

Notary Public, New York City and County. SHAL]

I hereby approve of, and consent to, the filing of the foregoing certificate of Incorporation of THE AUTHORS CLUB in the several offices of the Secretary of State and of the Clerk of the County of New York, as provided by law.

GEORGE P. ANDREWS,

Justice of Suprems Court, First Judicial District. New York, February 17, 1887.

1

Form of Bequest in a Will

"I give and bequeeth (or devise, if the property is real estate) that how Club, a corporation organised under the laws of the Stat New York, the following property, to with: (Here insert descripting property)." If intended to be in trust, add "in trust, the income used for its corporate purpose," or if for a special purpose, specific purpose for which the income is to be used. 0

5

Officers 1925

÷

DON C. SEITZ, President GEORGE P. KUNZ, Vice-President ERNEST H. WRIGHT, Secretary WILLIAM FREDERICE DIX, Treasurer

.

1.25

members of Council

Term expires 1926

JAMES HOWARD BRIDGE ARTHUR GUITERMAN HAROLD T. PULSIFER

Term expires 1927

ROYAL J. DAVIS ARTHUR C. MCGIFFERT FREDERICE C. HICKS

Term expires 1928

JULIUS HENRY COHEN CHARLES DE KAY ERNEST N. HENDERSON

The officers are ex officio members of the Council.

membership Committee

To January 1926

JOHN ERSEINE EMORY HOLLOWAY GEORGE S. HELLMAN

÷

To January 1927

WALTER A. FROST HERMAN HAGEDORN RAYMOND M. WEAVER ROBERT H. SCHAUFFLEE

To January 1928

ARTHUR H. NASON, Secretory SAMUEL M. TUCKER BURTON J. HENDRICE MONTROSE J. MOSES, Chairman