TRIENNIAL CATALOGUE AND DIRECTORY OF THE MASSACHUSETTS MEDICAL SOCIETY

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649408276

Triennial Catalogue and Directory of the Massachusetts Medical Society by Massachusetts Medical Society

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

MASSACHUSETTS MEDICAL SOCIETY

TRIENNIAL CATALOGUE AND DIRECTORY OF THE MASSACHUSETTS MEDICAL SOCIETY



CONTENTS.

OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY, 1782-	18	87	•					iii
Annual Meetings, 1782—1887	٠	٠	٠	٠		٠		x
Annual Discourses, 1804—1887	•			•		•		xv
THE HONORARY MEMBERSHIP, 178:	2—	-18	87	٠	,	٠		1
FELLOWS OF THE SOCIETY, 1887		٠		•			٠	7
THE MASSACHUSETTS LOCAL LIST O	F	FE	ITO	ws	٠	•		39
Non-Resident Fellows		٠	٠		٠	٠	•	67
SUMMARY OF MEMBERSHIP BY DIST	RIC	тв			2			69



***** # ## ## 3343 E #

OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY.

1782—1887.

PRESIDENTS.

	I MHOID MA A D.	
Elected		Served till
1782	EDWARD AUGUSTUS HOLYOKE	1784
1784	WILLIAM KNEELAND	1786
1786	EDWARD AUGUSTUS HOLYOKE	1787
1787	COTTON TUPES	1795
1795	SAMUEL DANFORTH	1798
1798	ISAAC RAND	1804
1804	JOHN WARBEN	1815
1815	JOSHUA FISHER	1823
1823	John Brooks	1825
1825	JAMES JACKSON	1832
1832	JOHN COLLINS WARREN	1836
1836	George Cheyne Shattuck	1840
1840	RUFUS WYMAN	1842
1842	JACOB BIGELOW	1847
1847	ZADOR HOWE	1848
1848	JOHN WARE	1852
1852	George Hayward	1855
1855	ELISHA HUNTINGTON	1857
1857	LUTHER V BELL	1859
1859	John Homans	1862
1862	Josiah Bartlett	1864
1864	AUGUSTUS ADDISON GOULD	1866
1866	HENRY COIT PERKINS	1868
1868	CHARLES GIDEON PUTNAM	1870
1870	SAMUEL AUGUSTUS FISK	1872
1872	GEORGE CHEYNE SHATTUCK	1874

	33	

OFFICERS OF	THE SOCIETY.	
		Distance
[1] [1] [1] [1] [1] [1] [1] [1] [1] [1]	1917 (P. 1917)	
(5470)	7-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1	0
THOMAS HOVEY	GAGE	£1
		33
VICE PRES	DENTS.	
82 JAMES PECKER	178	5
785 Corron Turis	178	7
187 ISAAC RAND	179	0
190 SAMUEL DANFO	RTH 179	5
195 SAMUEL HOLTE	N 179	7
197 ISAAC RAND	179	8
198 EBEN HUNT	180	0
300 JOHN WARREN	180	4
304 Joshua Fisher	181	5
315 THOMAS WELSE	182	3
323 JAMES JACKSON	182	5
325 ABRAHAM HASI	CELL 182	7
327 Amos Holbrod	E 183	2
332 JOHN DIXWELL	183	5
335 NATHANIEL MI	LER 184	0
340 STEPHEN BACHS	GLER 184	2
342 Solomon Davis	TOWNBEND 184	3
843 ROBERT THANTS	r 184	5
846 EDWARD FLINT		
348 JOSEPH STONE		
854 JAMES DEANE		
	RDSON BOUTELLE 185	9
	WILLIAM COGGS THE WILLIAM COGGS THE GEORGE HINCE: THE WILLIAM COGGS THE GEORGE HINCE: THE WILLIAM COGGS THE WILLIAM THE WILLIA	1874 Benjamin Eddy Cotting 1876 William Cogswell 18776 William Cogswell 1878 1878 George Hinckley Lyman 1888 1880 Henry Williams 1888 1882 Alfred Hosmer 1888 1884 Charles Dudley Homans 1886 Thomas Hovey Gage 178 1788 1886 Thomas Hovey Gage 178 1788 1887 1884 1879 1887 1884 1879 1887 1884 1879 1887 1884 1879 1895 1884 1879 1895 1884 1879 1895 1896 1896 1897 1896 1896 1897 1897 1898 1898 1897 1898

0.900 - 750

	# ¹¹ 70	at •	
33			
8			γ.,
	OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY.	vii	
Elected	0.00	Served till	
1859	JOHN GEORGE METCALF	1862	
1862	EBENEZER ALDEN	1864	
1864	HENRY LYMAN SABIN	1866	
1866	FOSTER HOOPER	1868	
1868	HENRY LYMAN SABIN	1870	
1870	EBENEZER HUNT	1872	
1872	BENJAMIN EDDY COTTING	1874	
1874	Joseph Sargent	1876	
1876	JONATHAN WALTER DANDOLO OSGOOD	1877	Y
1877	GILMAN KIMBALL	1878	
1878	DAVID PAIGE SMITH	1880	
1880	ASA MILLET	1881	
1881	THOMAS HOVEY GAGE	1882	
1882	JOHN HOWELL MACKIE	1883	
1883	IRA RUSSELL	1884	
1884	ADAM CALHOUN DEANE	1885	
1885	GEORGE NELSON MUNSELL	1886	
1886	JOHN MARTYN HARLOW	•	
	Section Control of Con		
	and t		
	TREASURERS.		
1782	AARON DEXTER	1788	
1783	THOMAS WELSH	1798	
1798	THOMAS KAST	1807	
1807	JAMES JACKSON	1811	
1811	JOHN GORHAM COFFIN	1818	
1818	JOHN GORHAM	1823	
1823	JACOB BIGGIOW	1828	
1828	WALTER CHANNING	1840	
1840	WOODBRIDGE STRONG	1845	
1845	AUGUSTUS ADDISON GOULD	1847	
1847	ZABDIEL BOYLSTON ADAMS	1848	
1848	AUGUSTUS ADDISON GOULD	1863	
1863	FRANCIS MINOT	1875	
	A MANUAL MAINVA	-010	

CORRESPONDING SECRETARIES.

00.	RRESPONDING SECRETAR	IES.
Elected	0.02000-0.000-0.0000-0.0000-0.000	Served till
1782	JOHN BARNARD SWETT	1787
1787	JOHN WARREN	1800
1860	JOSEPH WHIPPLE	1805
1805	THOMAS WELSH	1815
1815	JOHN COLLINS WARREN	1822
1822	JOHN DIXWELL	1832
1832	GEORGE HAYWARD	1835
1835	ENOCH HALE	1838
1838	JOHN HOMANS	1840
1840	SOLOMON DAVIS TOWNSEND	1843
1543	SAMUEL MORRILL	1846
1846	DAVID HUMPHREYS STORER	1847
1847	JOHN BARNARD SWETT JACKSON	1848
1848	DAVID HUMPHREYS STORER	1849
1849	CHARLES GIDEON PUTNAM	1851
1851	HENRY INGERSOLL BOWDITCH	1854
1854	CHARLES ELIOT WARE	1857
1857	BENJAMIN EDDY COTTING	1864
1864	WILLIAM EDWARD COALE	1865
1865	CHARLES DUDLEY HOMANS	1873
1873	· CHARLES WALTER SWAN	

RECORDING SECRETARIES.

1782	NATHAN WALKER APPLETON	1792
1792	JOSIAH BARTLETT	1796
1796	WILLIAM JACKSON	1798
1798	JOHN FLEET	1802
1802	THOMAS DANFORTH	1805
1805	JOHN COLLINS WARREN	1814
1814	JOHN DIXWELL	1.822
1822	THOMAS PARKER	1828
1828	JOHN GORHAM	1826
1826	GEORGE HAYWARD	1832

	OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY.	ix	
Elected		Served, till	
1832	ENOCH HALE	1835	
1835	JOHN HOMANS	1838	
1838	SOLOMON DAVIS TOWNSEND	1840	
1840	George Washington Otis	1842	
1842	SAMUEL MORBILL	1843	34
1843	DAVID HUMPHREYS STORER	1846	38
1846	CHARLES GIDEON PUTNAM	1847	
1847	ALEXANDER THOMAS	1848	121
1848	CHARLES GIDEON PUTNAM	1849	
1849	HENRY INGERSOLL BOWDITCH	1851	*
1851	CHARLES ELIOT WARE	1854	
1854	SAMUEL PARKMAN	1855	
1855	BENJAMIN EDDY COTTING	1857	
1857	JOHN BURROUGHS ALLEY	1862	
1862	FRANCIS MINOT	1863	
1863	WILLIAM WALLACE MOBLAND	1864	
1864	CHARLES DUDLEY HOMANS	1865	
1865	RICHARD MANNING HODGES	1866	
1866	DAVID WILLIAMS CHEEVER	1867	
1867	CALVIN GATES PAGE	1868	
1868	CHARLES WALTER SWAN	1873	
1873	FRANK WINTEROP DRAPER	1875	
1875	FRANCIS WEBSTER GOSS		
	* :		
	LIBRARIANS.		
1782	AARON DEXTER	1792	
1792	WILLIAM SPOONER	1800	
1800	JOHN FLERT	1813	
1813	JOHN DIXWELL	1814	
1814	John Gorham	1818	
1818	WILLIAM GAMAGE	1819	
1819	JOHN RANDALL	1822	
1822	WALTER CHANNING	1825	
1825	GRORGE HAYWARD	1826	
1826	ENOCH HALE	1832	
		89	
	12°	*	
		((t	

= 5⁸ 5