CIVIL GOVERNMENT OF COLORADO. THE HISTORY OF COLORADO. CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649381272

Civil government of Colorado. The history of Colorado. Constitution of the State of Colorado by Dorus R. Hatch & Eugene Parsons & Frank H. H. Roberts

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

CIVIL GOVERNMENT OF COLORADO. THE HISTORY OF COLORADO. CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO



CIVIL GOVERNMENT OF COLORADO

DORUS R. HATCH

NINETEENTH EDITION

PUBLISHED BY
HERRICK BOOK & STATIONERY CO.
DENVER, COLORADO
1921

10 100



Copyrighted, 1915 by HERRICK BOOK & STATIONERY CO.

COPYRIGHTED, 1917
BY
HERRICK BOOK & STATIONERY CO.

Copyrighted, 1921 BY HERRICK BOOK & STATIONERY CO.

CONTENTS

Chapt	er.								P	age
1.	THE STATE OF	COL	ORA	DO		ě			•	1
II.	THE CONSTIT	10ITU	٠.	•					•	4
III.	PUBLIC OFFIC	ERS	*	•	•	•	•	•	•	5
ıv.	THE LEGISLAT	CIVE 1	DEPA	RTI	MEN	т	•	٠	•	7
v.	THE EXECUTI	VE DI	EPAR	TM	ENT		•5	ŧχ		16
VI.	THE JUDICIAL	DEP	ARTI	MEN	T	*9	•	•8	•03	26
VII.	THE COUNTY		*	٠	*	•	*		•	34
VIII.	THE SCHOOL I	DISTR	ICT	¥	•	¥	¥	¥	•	39
IX.	TOWNS AND C	ITIES		•	•	•				42
x.	STATE INSTIT	UTIO	NS	•	•	*	٠	•	•	45
XI.	ELECTIONS			•		٠	•	•	•	49
XII.	REVENUE			9	•		•	٠	•	54
XIII.	PUBLIC INDEB	TEDN	ESS		•	•	•	•		56
	DEFINITIONS	a• a•	3. •	e.			•			58
	INDEX .	7 2 10 1240								62

Jan 27/22

Preface to the Nineteenth Edition

THIS work aims to give the principal facts of the machinery of our State Government. The desire has been to be comprehensive, reliable and brief. Since its first publication in 1892 it has been revised whenever important changes have been made either in the laws or in the Constitution. The present edition, the nineteenth, includes changes made up to August, 1921.

In the work of revision great care has been taken to have all statements in harmony with the facts at this date, but the publishers will be grateful to have pointed out to them any errors which may have crept into the text.

It is recommended that all copies of former editions now in use be replaced by the present edition, as many statements found in the previous editions are necessarily incorrect at this time and it is important that all texts of this character in use be as authoritative as possible.

The Herrick Book and Stationery Co. Publishers

Denver, 1921.

CHAPTER I.

THE STATE OF COLORADO.

Boundaries.—The State of Colorado includes the territory lying between the thirty-seventh and forty-first parallels of north latitude, and the twenty-fifth and thirty-second degrees of longitude west from Washington. Longitude is not now reckoned from Washington and meridians 102 and 109 west from Greenwich are usually given as the east and west boundaries of Colorado. The marked boundary lines are some miles west of these meridians.

When Texas was admitted into the Union in 1845, her territory was described as follows:—"All the land lying east of the Rio Grande and embraced within the limits of the Rio Grande on the west and south and the boundary between the United States and Spain under the Florida treaty of 1819, on the east."

In 1850 Texas sold to the United States all her territory outside her present limits. This included that portion of Colorado which is bounded on the north and east by the Arkansas River and on the south-west by the Rio Grande. The north-western boundary of this portion was not defined.

The rest of the State was included in the Mexican cession of 1848.

History of French cession.—The part of Colorado acquired from France remained a part of the Territory of Louisiana until 1812. Upon the admission of the State of Louisiana in that year, the remainder of the Louisiana purchase received the name of Missouri Territory. After the admission of the State of Missouri in 1821, what remained of the territory was still for many years known as Missouri. That part of the French cession now included in Colorado became parts of the territories of Kansas and Nebraska upon their organization in 1854.

History of Texan and Mexican cessions.—That part of Colorado west of the "summit of the Rocky Mountains" was included in the territory of Utah, organized in 1850. The rest of the Texan and Mexican cessions became parts of New Mexico and Kansas, organized respectively in 1850 and 1854.*

Territory organized .- After the increase of population following the gold excitement of 1858-9, measures were taken resulting in 1861 in the organization of the Territory of Colorado, with the boundaries of the present State.

Enabling act.—The act of Congress enabling Colo-

^{*}Nebraska included that part of Colorado east of the summit of the Rocky Mountains and north of parallel forty.

The boundary of Kansas followed the 37th parallel west to the 103d meridian west from Greenwich; thence north to latitude 38; thence west to the "summit of the Rocky Mountains"; thence north on said summit to parallel 40; thence east, etc.

The boundary of New Mexico followed the 103d meridiar west from Greenwich north to parallel 38; thence west on that parallel to the summit of the Sierra Madre; thence south with the crest of said mountains to the 37th parallel.

rado to become a State received the approval of President Grant on March 3, 1875.

Constitutional convention.—The convention to form a state constitution met in Denver, December 20, 1875, and adopted a constitution March 14, 1876.

Adoption of Constitution by the people.—The Constitution was adopted by the people at an election held July 1, 1876.

Final admission.—The proclamation of President Grant, announcing the final admission of Colorado as a State, is dated August 1, 1876.

National officers.—As a state, Colorado became entitled to two United States Senators, one Representative in Congress and three Presidential Electors. The number of representatives in Congress has been increased after each United States census. In the apportionment of representatives made by Congress after the census of 1910 Colorado became entitled to four congressmen. The General Assembly divides the State into congressional districts, in each of which a congressman is elected every two years.

United States senators are elected by popular vote, and serve six years. The terms of our present senators will expire one in 1924 and the other in 1926.

^{*}The Congressional Districts are as follows: First district, the City and County of Denver;

Second District, Adams, Arapaboe, Boulder, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Douglas, Elbert, Gilpin, Jefferson, Kit Carson, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld and Yuma.

Third district, Alamosa, Baca, Bent, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Mineral, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache and Telier.

Fourth district, Archuleta, Chaffee, Delta, Dolores, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jackson, Lake, La Plata, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, San Juan, San Miguel and Summit.