A SCHOOL GEOGRAPHY OF NEW ZEALAND

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649330157

A school geography of New Zealand by D. Petrie

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

D. PETRIE

A SCHOOL GEOGRAPHY OF NEW ZEALAND



A SCHOOL GEOGRAPHY

OF

*NEW ZEALAND.

HY

D. PETRIE, M.A.,

INSPECTOR OF SCHOOLS TO THE OTAGO EDUCATION BOARD.



Pondon:

T. NELSON AND SONS, PATERNOSTER ROW. DUNEDIN, N.Z.: HENRY WISE AND CO.

1880.

201. g. 208.



PREFACE.

THE ready sale of the first edition of this little book has given the author the opportunity of placing before the public of New Zealand an improved issue, better adapted for use in Schools. The plan has not been modified, but the amount of matter included has been cut down by the omission of the account of the Australian Colonies. Great pains have been taken to secure accuracy of statement, and to present a full and faithful account of the present condition of the Colony. The author is greatly indebted to Mr. James M'Kerrow, Assistant Surveyor-General, for much valuable information most readily supplied; and also to Messrs. R. J. O'Sullivan, W. Colenso, and R. Lee, Inspectors of Schools in different parts of New Zealand, besides several other gentlemen interested in the subject.

DUNEDIN, 1880.



NEW ZEALAND.

POSITION OF NEW ZEALAND.

NEW ZEALAND is a Colony of the British Empire, and lies in the south-western region of the Pacific Ocean, about 1,200 miles south-east of Australia, and 12,000 from Great Britain. It comprises the North Island, the South Island, and Stewart Island, with the small islands near their coasts; also the Chatham Islands, the Auckland Islands, Campbell Island, and Bounty and Antipodes Islands—all lying a considerable distance off. The Antipodes group is so named from its being nearly opposite to Great Britain.

The three main islands lie between 34° 22′ and 47° 18′ south latitude, and 166° 27′ and 178° 34′ east longitude.

AREA AND DIMENSIONS.

The area of New Zealand is 106,260 square miles, or somewhat less than that of Great Britain and Ireland, which is 121,878 square miles. The distance between the north and south extremities is about 1,100 miles, and the average breadth about 120, while no part is more than 75 miles from the coast.

The **South Island** is about 550 miles long, with a breadth of from 140 to 180 miles, and an area of 55,244 square miles; being nearly the size of England and Wales.

The **North Island** is about 550 miles long, with a greatest breadth of 280 miles, and an area of 44,736 square miles; being rather less than the area of England, exclusive of Wales.

t

Stewart Island is 30 miles long by 25 broad, and has an area of 1,300 square miles.

The coast line is about 3,000 miles in length.

Cook Strait—13 miles across at the narrowest part separates the North and South Islands.

Foveaux Strait—about 15 miles across—separates the South Island from Stewart Island.

THE POLITICAL DIVISIONS.

The **Main Islands** are divided into **Provincial Districts**, which represent the former Provinces, and are subdivided into Counties.

The South Island contains five Provincial Districts, namely:—

- (1.) Marlborough, in the North-east, subdivided into three Counties. Its chief town is Blenheim.
- (2.) Nelson, south-west of Marlborough, touching the East, North, and West Coasts, and subdivided into seven Counties. Its chief town is Nelson.
- (3.) Canterbury, south of Nelson, on the East Coast, subdivided into six Counties. Its chief town is Christchurch.
- (4.) Otago, south of Canterbury, and including Stewart Island, subdivided into fourteen Counties. Its chief town is Dunedin.

(5.) Westland, west of Canterbury, forming a single County. Its chief town is Hokitika.

The North Island contains four Provincial Districts, namely:—

- (1.) Auckland, occupying the North, subdivided into twenty-one Counties. Its chief town is Auckland.
- (2.) Hawke's Bay, on the East Coast, subdivided into three Counties. Its chief town is Napier.
- (3.) Wellington, occupying the South, subdivided into six Counties. Its chief town is Wellington.
- (4.) Taranaki, on the West Coast, subdivided into two Counties. Its chief town is New Plymouth.

New Zealand thus contains 63 Counties, 32 of which lie in the North Island, and 31 in the South Island.

COAST FEATURES.

SOUTH ISLAND.

North of Nelson and Marlborough:—

Cape Farewell, from which a sand - bank, called Farewell Spit, extends a long way to the east.

Golden or Massacre Bay (here some of Tasman's sailors were killed by Natives).

Tasman or Blind Bay. The French Pass, a narrow channel, between D'Urville Island and the mainland, through which steamers can just pass when tide and weather are favourable.

Admiralty Bay.

Pelorus Sound, a picturesque branching inlet. Cape Jackson.

Queen Charlotte Sound, a picture sque branching inlet.

Tory Channel, the Eastern entrance to Queen Charlotte Sound.