PROCEEDINGS IN COMMEMORATION OF THE SETTLEMENT OF THE TOWN OF NEW HAVEN, APRIL 25, 1888. PP. 3-67

Published @ 2017 Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd

ISBN 9780649326099

Proceedings in Commemoration of the Settlement of the Town of New Haven, April 25, 1888. pp. 3-67 by Various

Except for use in any review, the reproduction or utilisation of this work in whole or in part in any form by any electronic, mechanical or other means, now known or hereafter invented, including xerography, photocopying and recording, or in any information storage or retrieval system, is forbidden without the permission of the publisher, Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd, PO Box 1576 Collingwood, Victoria 3066 Australia.

All rights reserved.

Edited by Trieste Publishing Pty Ltd. Cover @ 2017

This book is sold subject to the condition that it shall not, by way of trade or otherwise, be lent, re-sold, hired out, or otherwise circulated without the publisher's prior consent in any form or binding or cover other than that in which it is published and without a similar condition including this condition being imposed on the subsequent purchaser.

www.triestepublishing.com

VARIOUS

PROCEEDINGS IN
COMMEMORATION OF THE
SETTLEMENT
OF THE TOWN OF NEW HAVEN,
APRIL 25, 1888. PP. 3-67



PROCEEDINGS 36441 IN COMMEMORATION

OF THE SETTLEMENT OF THE

Town of New Haven, c.



APRIL 25TH, 1888.



A granite tablet, a cut of which is printed above, was inserted by order of the committee in the west wall of the brick store at the corner of College and George streets.

The oak tree, beneath whose shade the first public Christian worship in New Haven was observed, is said by tradition to have stood about twenty feet north of George street and forty-five feet east of College street.



PREFATORY NOTE.

The first steps towards the celebration of the 250th anniversary of the settlement of New Haven were taken at a special town meeting held in Loomis' Temple of Music, December 22d, 1887, previous notice in legal form having been given. At this meeting the following votes were passed:

Voted, That the sum of one thousand dollars be and is hereby appropriated from the treasury of the town for the purpose of properly celebrating the 250th anniversary of the settlement of the town of New Haven, if in the judgment of the Board of Selectmen they should deem it best; provided that the Selectmen enquire into the legality of expending such sum.

Voted, That said sum be expended at the discretion of the Selectmen, and that said celebration should be of a civic and historical, rather than of a military character.

In accordance with this action, a public hearing of citizens interested in the celebration was held February 1st, 1888, in response to an invitation published by the selectmen in the daily papers. At a second hearing, held February 24th, those present voted to appoint the following committee to co-operate with the selectmen in managing the celebration:

From the Selectmen-James REYNOLDS, GEORGE M. WHITE.

From the Chamber of Commerce—Henry G. Lewis, Henry S. Dawson, N. D. Sperry, Max Adler, James D. Dewell, James P. Pigott.

From the New Haven Colony Historical Society—Thomas R. TROWERIDGE, JOHNSON T. PLATT, RUEL P. COWLES, SIMEON E. BALDWIN.

From Yale University-Franklin B. Dexter.

From the Board of Education-HORACE DAY.

From the Grand Army of the Republic—Lewis B. Brown, E. E. Tisdale, David S. Thomas, Nathan Easterbrook, Jr.

From the New Haven Congregational Club—JUSTIN E. TWITCHELL.
From the Hopkins Grammar School—George L. Fox.

From the Citizens of the Town-Henry B. Harrison, L. S. Punderson.

Various sub-committees to represent the different interests involved were subsequently appointed, and additions were made to the general committee from time to time. This committee as finally constituted was as follows:

JAMES REYNOLDS, Chairman. NATHAN EASTERBROOK, Jr., Secretary.

FRANK E. CRAIC, MAX ADLER, CHARLES W. ALLEN, M. C. CREMIN, E. D. BASSETT, HENRY S. DAWSON, SIMBON E. BALDWIN, HORACE DAY, T. ATTWATER BARNES FRANKLIN B. DEXTER. WILLIAM A. BRERS, CLARENCE DEMING, I. I. BRENNAN. TAMES D. DEWELL. ISAAC E. BROWN, GEORGE L. DICKERMAN, EDWARD F. DURAND. LEWIS B. BROWN, E. E. BRADLEY, H. W. DURAND, JOHN C. BRADLEY, TIMOTHY DWIGHT, HENRY T. BLAKE. JOHN E. EARLE, CHARLES F. BOLLMANN, B. E. ELMSTEDT, SAMUEL BOLTON. CHARLES H. FARNAM. CALEB B, BOWERS, HENRY W. FARNAM, WILLIAM H. CARMALT, LOUIS FELDMAN, HIRAM CAMP. GEORGE L. FOX, SIMBON J. FOX. R. H. CHITTENDEN. RUEL P. COWLES. GEORGE H. FORD. CHARLES FLEISCHNER, DANIEL COLWELL. EDWIN W. COOPER, W. J. FULLER.

JAMES GALLAGHER, JR., JAMES P. PIGOTT, HENRY C. GOODWIN, JOHNSON T. PLATT, J. P. GOODHART, J. D. PLUNKETT, W. L. GUNNING. L. S. PUNDERSON, HENRY B. HARRISON, WILLIAM REBMAN. A. C. HENDRICK, JOHN B. ROBERTSON. HENRY L. HILL, WILLIAM C. ROBINSON, CONRAD HOFACKER. J. P. RICHARDS, FRANK HUGO, JOHN RUFF, ALFRED HUGHES. PAUL RUSSO. CHARLES R. INGERSOLL, CHARLES W. SCRANTON, L. H. JOHNSON, C. SLEICHER. ALBERT H. KELLAM. STEPHEN R. SMITH, ERNEST KLENKE, N. D. SPERRY. HORACE H. STRONG, FRANK T. LEE, HENRY G. LEWIS, W. F. STERNBERG, AUGUSTUS E. LINES, PETER TERHUNE, HENRY W. MANSFIRLD. DAVID S. THOMAS, PATRICK MCKENNA, E. E. TISDALE, CHARLES H. TOWNSEND, EZRA P. MERRIAM, CHARLES G. MERRIMAN. THOMAS R. TROWBRIDGE. S. E. MERWIN, MORRIS F. TYLER, JAMES T. MORAN, JUSTIN E. TWITCHELL, GEORGE N. MOSES, F. H. WALDRON. JAMES T. MULLEN, GEORGE M. WHITE, S. M. MUNSON, WILLIAM W. WHITE, CHARLES A. NETTLETON. JAMES D. WHITMORE, CHARLES N. NOTT, ELI WHITNEY, JR., THEODORE D. WOOLSEY, M. C. O'CONNER. HENRY PECK, SAMUEL A. YORK, HENRY F. PECK. MAIER ZUNDER.

The following sub-committees had charge of the details of the celebration:

FINANCE.

ELI WHITNEY, JR., Chairman.

THOMAS R. TROWBRIDGE,

MAX ADLER,

CHARLES H. TOWNSEND,

PATRICK MCKENNA.

INVITATIONS.

HENRY G. LEWIS. Chairman.

HENRY B. HARRISON,

JOHNSON T. PLATT,

MORRIS F. TYLER,

CLARENCE DEMING.

YALE UNIVERSITY.

TIMOTHY DWIGHT, Chairman.

FRANKLIN B, DEXTER,

HENRY W. FARNAM,

WILLIAM C. ROBINSON,

WILLIAM H. CARMALT.

CITY GOVERNMENT.

SAMUEL A, YORK, Chairman.

JAMES D. WHITMORE,

JAMES T. MORAN,

GEORGE L. DICKERMAN,

CHARLES FLEISCHNER.

MILITARY AND FIRE DEPARTMENT.

E, E, BRADLEY, Chairman.

A. C. HENDRICK,

CHARLES H. FARNAM,

H. H. STRONG. FRANK T. LEE.

CIVIC SOCIETIES.

A. H. KELLAM, Chairman.

JAMES T. MULLEN, E. F. DURAND,

FRANK HUGO, L. H. JOHNSON,

CONRAD HOFACKER,

H. W. DURAND,

FRANK E. CRAIG,

HENRY C. GOODWIN,

M. C. CREMIN. SAMUEL BOLTON.

WILLIAM REHMAN, HENRY L. HILL,

DANIEL COLWELL,

WILLIAM F. STERNBERG,

PETER TERHUNE,

JAMES GALLAGHER, JR.,

J. P. RICHARDS,

PAUL RUSSO.

M. C. O'CONNER,

GEORGE N. MOSES,

W. J. FULLER.

SCHOOLS.

HORACE DAY, Chairman.

J. D. PLUNKETT, HENRY F. PECK, MAIER ZUNDER,

George L. Fox.

ORATION, PUBLIC EXERCISES AND HALL.

JAMES REYNOLDS, Chairman.

CHARLES R. INGERSOLL,

N. D. SPERRY,

THOMAS R. TROWBRIDGE,

JAMES D. DEWELL.

MEDALS AND MEMORIALS.

HENRY T. BLAKE, Chairman.

S. E. BALDWIN,

N. D. SPERRY, HORACE DAY,

E. D. BASSETT, JOHN E. EARLE,

THOMAS R. TROWBRIDGE,

R. H. CHITTENDEN.

PRINTING AND BADGES.

D. S. THOMAS, Chairman.

Charles W. Scranton,

GEORGE H. FORD,

Simeon J. Fox, Ezra P. Merriam.

PROCESSION, MARSHAL, MUSIC AND LINE OF MARCH.

S. E. MERWIN, Chairman.

S. R. SMITH,

GRORGE M. WHITE,

T. ATTWATER BARNES,

CHARLES F. BOLLMANN,

HORACE DAY.

CARRIAGES.

FRED. H. WALDRON, Chairman.

CHARLES FLEISCHNER,

CHARLES H. R. NOTT.